Quick Links

Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Main Navigation



Sign up for the News Update.

Sub Navigation


Home > breadcrumbs: School > breadcrumbs: Clubs and Organizations > breadcrumbs: Mathletes >


Ajax Loading Image



by Craig Ortiz


Mathletes is a group of students from all four grade levels who compete against students at other schools by taking tests on various mathematical topics.  Competitions include conference, regional, invitational, and state contests, and students compete as individuals and in teams of various sizes.  Topics covered may be very specific, such as factoring, or very broad, such as geometry.  Awards are given for individual, team, and school performance.


Northern Illinois Big XII Math Contest - December 6, 2016 

Lemont Invitational Math Contest - TBA

ICTM Regional Math Contest - February 25, 2017

ICTM State Math Contest - May 6, 2017

The MCHS Mathletes traditionally perform very well at contests, bringing home first, second, and third place finishes in many categories.  Our division placement is based on a combination of enrollment and geographic location, which means we compete against other outstanding schools year after year.  We have had students qualify for state competition each year for several years.

For more information about Mathletes or to sign up, please see one of the coaches:  Mr. OrtizMr. Tripp, or Mrs. O'Malley.


Previous years' award recipients:

2015 Mathlete Award Winners:

Inserted Image











Senior Mathlete Coaches' Award winners Ian Bashor, Bridget Gile, Jiasui Ding, and Chloe Castelluccio

Inserted Image

Mathlete Coaches' Award Recipients Jason Jurak, Peter Smyk, and Sarah Neuhalfen

Inserted Image

2015 Senior Mathletes


2013 Mathlete Award Winners:

Inserted Image

Tim Gile, Sean Phillips, and Craig Claire were the 2013 recipients of the Senior Mathlete Coaches' Award for their exceptional dedication and contributions to our program.

Inserted Image

Ian Bashor and Shain Hennessy, pictured with coach Mrs. Samantha Shannon, were the sophomore and freshmen Mathlete Coaches' Award recipients, respectively.  Not pictured is Matt Bernickus, junior recipient.

Inserted Image

Levi Steele, Nikole Eliakis, Fernando Del Toro, Rachel Neuhalfen, Harmony Alford, Hannah Hesslau, and Sean Phillips were recognized as four-year members of Mathletes.

Inserted Image

Craig Claire, Fernando Del Toro, Alex Magers, Tim Gile, Jeff Perry, Levi Steele, Brian Bernier, Hannah Hesslau, Adam Skelton, Harmony Alford, Nikole Eliakis, Morgan Popidinski, Rachel Neuhalfen, and Sean Phillips, and Jake Capko (not pictured) were our senior Mathletes this year, one of the largest and most talented groups we have ever had.


Previous Years' Accomplishments

2012-13 School Year Results:

Northern Illinois Big 12 Conference Math Contest:  December 4, 2012

Lemont Invitational Math Contest:  January 30, 2013

ICTM Regional Math Contest:  February 23, 2013

ICTM State Math Contest:  May 4, 2013

2011-12 School Year Results:

Northern Illinois Big 12 Conference Contest:  December 6, 2011

Lemont Invitational Math Contest:  January 25, 2012

ICTM Regional Math Contest:  February 25, 2012

JJC Invitational Math Contest:  March 14, 2012

ICTM State Math Contest:  May 5, 2012

 2010-11 School Year Results:

Batavia Invitational Math Contest

Northern Illinois Big 12 Math Contest

Lemont Invitational Math Contest 

Kaneland Invitational Math Contest

ICTM Regional Math Contest

JJC Invitational Math Contest

ICTM State Math Contest at University of Illinois

2009-10 School Year Results:

ICTM State Math Contest

JJC Invitational Math Contest

ICTM Regional Math Contest

Lemont Invitational Math Contest

2008-09 School Year Results:

Southwest Prairie Conference Results

ICTM Regional Results

JJC Invitational Results

ICTM State Math Contest Results


Back To Top